Explore the house and the region

History of the estate

The first officially mentioned owner of Schlößchen Hildenbrandseck was Marx von Hiltbrandseck, who was a prominent clerk in the Palatinate administration. Starting in 1528, he also served as a ‘Landschreiber’, a historical version of the treasurer, and worked under the elector Ludwig V of Palatinate. Schlößchen Hildenbrandseck was built in Renaissance style around 1540. For hundreds of years, the castle has been located between the villages of Königsbach and Gimmeldingen, surrounded by vineyards. It sits on the southern shore of the little stream Erlenbach, which used to be the border between the historical Kurpfalz (Electoral Palatinate) and Hochstift Speyer. In the early nineteenth century (1803), after having been auctioned off to the state, the castle was significantly remodeled and extended. Today the listed estate stands tall as a two-winged annex, and was extensively restored between 2007 and 2012 by the von Oettingen family.

Find us on facebook
Find us on our  YouTube Channel:

31.07.2017: Living in your own castle – Schlösschen Hildenbrandseck

28.07.2017: Owning a castle – interview with Susanne and Manfred von Oettingen 
15.06.2015: Heritage award for Schlösschen Hildenbrandseck

The media reported from the restoration of the castle – articles from Die Rheinpfalz (in German):

20.06.2015: Beauty of the aged
04.12.2014: Peace and quiet – all by itself
“Privatissimo! Sieben der schönsten Privatunterkünfte in der Pfalz” erschienen im Pfalzclub Magazin, Sommerausgabe 2014
09.11.2013: Glücksspirale and other good news
03.27.2013: Spend the night in a listed monument
06.16.2011: Final sprint for the little castle
09.10.2010: Slow, but steady progress
04.20.2009: A little angel flew in
09.16.2008: No vermin unrepresented
09.11.2008: Going to the bottom with history

Die Pfalz, the Palatinate: Wine – Nature – Culture

Wine, figs, almond trees and chestnuts thrive in the mild climate of the German wine route; every weekend there is a wine fest. The biosphere reserve Pfälzer Wald-Nordvogesen attracts hikers and cyclists with its grand scenery. The cultural gems are within sight; Castle Hambacher, the old imperial city Speyer with its impressive imperial cathedral (UNESCO World Heritage), Neustadt with its historical city center and the surrounding wine villages. The Palatinate is a soulful German landscape. And France is very close… Explore the region with its multifaceted possibilities for connoisseurs and sportsmen:

www.gimmeldingen.de
www.german-wineroute.com
www.pfalz.de/en

Worth a visit

Neustadt an der Weinstraße (historical, timbered city center)  

5 km / 3.1 miles

Deidesheim (picturesque winegrowing little town, Cittaslow)  

5 km / 3.1 miles

Castle Hambach (birthplace of the German democracy)  

9 km / 5.6 miles

Edenkoben (Villa Ludwigshöhe, Max Slevogt exhibition)  

18 km / 11.2 miles

Bad Dürkheim (Hardenburg castle ruin, Limburg abbey ruin)  

11 km / 6.8 miles

Speyer (Roman imperial cathedral, historic city center)  

30 km/ 18.6 miles

Trifels Castle (imperial Staufer castle, Kaiser castle)  

43 km / 26.7 miles

Schwetzingen (Baroque castle and castle garden)  

44 km / 27.3 miles

Worms (imperial cathedral, Nibelungen city, Jewish Worms)  

46 km / 28.6 miles

Heidelberg (Renaissance castle, university, historic city center)  

52 km / 32.3 miles

Wissembourg/Alsace region, France  

54 km / 33.5 miles

Strassbourg/Alsace region, France  

111 km / 69 miles

 

For the active

Hiking – Many thousand kilometers of hiking trails are waiting to be discovered and explored in the Pfalz – more than 800 kilometer thereof have been rated especially good. It does not matter if it is in the Rhine area, in the Palatinate forest, along the German wine street or in the Palatinate mountains and on the Donners mountain, when you hike in the Palatinate, you can choose between many different types of landscapes and hiking paths. You’ll find the high-rated “Palatinate wine path” right outside of our door, together with lots of other exceptional hiking trails. www.pfaelzer-wanderwege.de

Biking – The Palatinate is paradise for bikers – and you can choose yourself: 23 nationally important bike routes of almost 1500 kilometers invite you to discover the Palatinate on two wheels. www.pfalz.de/freizeit-und-erleben/radwege-in-der-pfalz

Mountain Biking -The diverse low mountain range of the Palatinate forest with its fine net of little road offer the perfect setting for the demanding mountainbiker. Here you will find variation and difference in altitude, tough uphills, demanding tracks cross the mountain and steep downhills. A highlight is the mountain bike park in the Palatinate forest which has over 300 kilometers of marked tracks on all levels of difficulty.www.mountainbikepark-pfaelzerwald.de

Climbing – “Klettergarten an der Heidenburg” is a crag, a rock climbing place in the old quarry of Gimmeldingen and contains around 80 climbing routes from difficulty 1 to 9.  myclimb.de/content/topofuehrer-gimmeldingen

Golfing – Beautiful golf courses are located close by: www.gc-pfalz.de, www.golf-absolute.de/dackenheim/, www.golfpark-kurpfalz.com

Haus & Region entdecken

Geschichte des Anwesens

Marx Hiltbrand von Hiltbrandseck, ein hoher Beamter der Pfalzgräflichen Verwaltung und seit 1528 Landschreiber des Oberamtes Neustadt unter Kurfürst Ludwig V, ist der erste urkundlich erwähnte Besitzer von Schlößchen Hildenbrandseck, das 1573/74 im Stil der Renaissance erbaut wurde. Jahrhundertelang lag das Anwesen zwischen den Dörfern Königsbach und Gimmeldingen, umgeben von Weinbergen, am Südufer des Erlenbachs, der einst die Grenze zwischen der Kurpfalz und dem Hochstift Speyer bildete. Im frühen 19. Jahrhundert (1803) als Nationalgut versteigert, erfuhr das Schlösschen in den folgenden Jahrzehnten erhebliche bauliche Veränderungen und Erweiterungen. Heute präsentiert sich der denkmalgeschützte Komplex als zweiflügelige Anlage, die von 2007 bis 2012 durch Familie von Oettingen umfassend restauriert wurde.

Aktuelle Informationen finden Sie auch auf unserer Facebook-Seite

Die Presse hat die Restaurierung des Schlößchens begleitet – Artikel aus der Rheinpfalz:

11.09.2008: Der Geschichte auf den Grund gegangen
16.09.2008: Kein Schädling, den es nicht gibt
20.04.2009: Engelchen zugeflogen
10.09.2010: Fortschritt langsam, dafür aber sicher
16.06.2011: Schlussspurt für das Schlössel
27.03.2013: Übernachten im Denkmal
09.11.2013: Glücksspirale und weitere Glücksfälle
„Privatissimo! Sieben der schönsten Privatunterkünfte in der Pfalz“ erschienen im Pfalzclub Magazin, Sommerausgabe 2014
04.12.2014: Ruhe – ganz von allein
Video: 15.06.2015: Denkmalpreis für Schlösschen Hildenbrandseck
20.06.2015: Schönheit im Alter

Die Pfalz: Wein – Natur – Kultur

Wein, Feigen, Mandelbäume und Esskastanien gedeihen im milden Klima der Deutschen Weinstraße. An jedem Wochenende finden Weinfeste statt. Das Biosphärenreservat Pfälzer Wald-Nordvogesen lockt Wanderer und Radfahrer mit seiner grandiosen Naturkulisse. Die kulturellen Schätze liegen in Sichtweite: Das Hambacher Schloss, die alte Reichsstadt Speyer mit dem mächtigen Kaiserdom (UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe), Neustadt mit seiner historischen Altstadt und seinen umliegenden Weindörfern. Die Pfalz ist eine deutsche Seelenlandschaft. Und Frankreich ist ganz nah… Entdecken Sie die Region mit ihren vielfältigen Möglichkeiten für Genießer und Aktive:
www.gimmeldingen.de
www.deutscheweinstrasse-pfalz.de
www.pfalz.de

Einen Ausflug wert

Neustadt an der Weinstraße (Historische Fachwerk-Altstadt)

5 km

Deidesheim (malerisches Weinbau-Städtchen, Cittaslow)

5 km

Hambacher Schloss (Wiege der deutschen Demokratie)

9 km

Edenkoben (Villa Ludwigshöhe, Max Slevogt-Ausstellung)

18 km

Bad Dürkheim (Burgruine Hardenburg, Klosterruine Limburg)

11 km

Speyer (Romanischer Kaiserdom, historische Altstadt)

30 km

Burg Trifels (Reichsburg der Staufer / Kaiserburg)

43 km

Schwetzingen (Barock-Schloss und Schlossgarten)

44 km

Worms (Kaiserdom, Nibelungenstadt, Jüdisches Worms)

46 km

Heidelberg (Renaissance-Schloss, Universität, Altstadt)

52 km

Wissembourg / Elsass, Frankreich

54 km

Strassbourg / Elsass, Frankreich

111 km

Für Aktive

Wandern – In der Pfalz warten viele tausend Kilometer Wanderwege darauf entdeckt und erkundet zu werden – davon mehr als 800 Kilometer Prädikatswanderwege. Ob in der Rheinebene, im Pfälzerwald, entlang der Deutschen Weinstrasse oder im Pfälzer Bergland und am Donnersberg, wer in der Pfalz wandert, kann zwischen vielen Landschaftstypen und Wanderwegen wählen. Der Prädikatswanderweg „Pfälzer Weinsteig“ liegt vor unserer Haustür, ebenso wie viele weitere Premium-Wanderwege. www.pfaelzer-wanderwege.de

Radfahren – Die Pfalz ist ein Paradies für Radfahrer – und Sie haben die Wahl: 23 überregional bedeutsame Radwege mit fast 1500 Kilometern Streckenlänge laden in der Pfalz zum Radfahren ein. www.pfalz.de/freizeit-und-erleben/radwege-in-der-pfalz

Mountain Bike – Die fein gegliederte Mittelgebirgslandschaft des Pfälzerwaldes mit ihrem feinmaschigen Wegenetz bietet optimale Voraussetzungen für anspruchsvolle Mountainbiker. Abwechslung und Höhenmeter, knackige Uphills, anspruchsvolle Querfahrten, rasante Downhills … Besonderes Highlight ist der Mountainbikepark Pfälzerwald mit über 300 km ausgeschilderten Strecken aller Schwierigkeitsgrade. www.mountainbikepark-pfaelzerwald.de

Klettern – »Klettergarten an der Heidenburg« im ehemaligen Gimmeldinger Gemeindesteinbruch mit rund 80 verschiedenen Routen in den Schwierigkeitsgraden 1 bis 9. myclimb.de/content/topofuehrer-gimmeldingen

Golf – Attraktive Golfplätze liegen ganz in der Nähe: www.gc-pfalz.de, www.golf-absolute.de/dackenheim/, www.golfpark-kurpfalz.com